Jump to content

Bulls Women the big winners at Bradford Sports Awards

Back to News

Posted 9th March 2018

On International Women’s Day, it was Bradford Bulls Women who were the big winners at the third annual Bradford Sport Awards, sponsored by Provident.

The Bulls completed a clean sweep of trophies in 2017 and it was those achievements that saw them named Club of the Year and Sporting Highlight of the Year in the ceremony at the Northern Commercials Stadium. Organised by Active Bradford, the awards were attended by over 350 people from clubs, groups and organisations across the district.

Star centre Amy Hardcastle was Highly Commended in the Female Sportsperson of the Year category, and coach Mark Prescott received the same accolade in the Coach of the Year stakes.

Seventeen awards were handed out on the night, celebrating sport and physical activity at all levels in Bradford.  Other winners included Katelyn Entwistle, who was named Female Sportsperson of the Year after winning international gold on four occasions in 2017 as her stock in the world of karate continues to rise.

Boxer Mohammed Haris Akbar beat England cricket star Jonny Bairstow and rugby league international John Bateman to the Sportsman of the Year title, after winning gold at the Great Britain Championships; whilst Steven Birkin won Disability Sportsman of the Year, having been selected for the Great Britain National Team for Para Taekwondo Poomsae and winning the British National Championships just three years after losing much of his sight.

Boxing coach Mally McIver was named Coach of the Year and there was a Special Recogntion Award for John Galt, the man who started the popular Bradford Dragonboat Festival that is the biggest of its kind in the UK.  Mark Lightowler was Volunteer of the Year for his inspirational work at Bradford Disability Football Club (BDFC).

Diver Holly Waxman was named Young Sportswoman of the Year following a 2017 that saw the 15-year old finish fourth in the British Senior National Diving Cup and win numerous medals in age group competitions. Trampoline starlet, Harrison Green was Young Sportsman of the Year having won the British title in 2017.

Special Olympics Great Britain National Champion, Josh Pullen, was named Young Disability Sportsperson of the Year; and Horizon Taekwondo won Young Club of the Year for a year that saw eleven members win British titles and the club being ranked third in the country.

Jodie Carter and Catherine McKendrick both won the Active Achievers award after transforming their lives through physical activity.  Girlington Primary were awarded the Active Schools trophy.

Other awards included Carlton Bolling Girls Cricket Team who went home with the Student Club/Team gong and Bradford Barracudas were named Non Professional Club/Team of 2017.

You can see details of all the winners and ‘Highly Commended’ HERE.

Closing the night, Chair of Active Bradford, Wayne Jacobs said: “It was an amazing night and it was right that we honour everyone from grassroots to volunteers; professional and semi-professional; men, women and children.

“The night showed that you can live in this district and you can achieve all your dreams in this district. At British, European and world level, people from Bradford are competing on every stage and every level – it’s outstanding.”

Active Bradford would like to thank sponsors: Provident, The Broadway Bradford, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, University of Bradford and Leeds Bradford Airport.

Want to add an activity, promote a job, course or volunteer opportunity?

Sign and promote your opportunity on our national finder.

Get Started